Our Ultimate Hiding Place: The Cross of Christ

When Rachel invited me to contribute to this Blog my heart rose, at the opportunity to encourage my brothers and sisters In- Christ, and indeed who ever reads it! I hope this encourages you in some small way, at this strange almost surreal season we find ourselves in.

Living in the midst of this COVID-19 pandemic is a first time experience for all of us in our life times. Alongside our faith in Christ it is something that unites us in our shared experience. More than that, it is by God’s grace and mercy He is in the midst of this with us, reaching out, desiring to use all of us if we are open and willing. We are his hands and his feet in the world today and he will use us for his glory to draw others in, or back into the family of God.

We are hearing daily, so many reports of acts of kindness happening all over the world. as Here right on our own doorsteps, many individuals are doing what they can, in so many different ways to support our NHS and all key workers who are putting themselves on the front line to ensure we have all we need in health care, food supplies and bins emptied, and in many ways that we normally all take for granted.

One significant thing that struck me powerfully was the increased number of programmes over Easter where folk were powerfully sharing their faith and how it has helped them personally at really hard times in their lives.

Also the need and desire for prayer has been expressed in many of our tv coverage of programmes and in the news. It seems that folk are being given much more liberty to express their faith in these days.

In our own weekly Church Zoom Group Meeting all of us have been sharing the opportunities and the liberty the Lord is giving us to show the love of Jesus. He is prompting us to grasp opportunities to speak of, and to offer prayer in the most unlikely of places even within the two metre distancing restrictions, in the middle of a wood or over the garden fence.

But here we are as Gods people all over the world in many places on our knees praying. There is no doubt The Lord has our eyes our ears and our full attention.

Psalm 46 keeps coming to mind, “God is our refuge and our strength our ever- present help in times of trouble.” As does the words of a song we often sing in CBBC; “Where do I go when I’m feeling down, who do I call when friends aren’t around, I look to the lifter of my head Jesus my Saviour and my friend.” These words are especially poignant for us now as many of us are separated from family, friends and loved ones. It reminds us so powerfully that The Lord who promises to never leave us nor forsake us, is with each of us in the midst of our own individual struggles and experiences in these strange days and sometimes it’s hard for us to really take that in.

I am a technological numpty but even I am getting my head round various means of communication to keep in contact with friends and family. Both near and on the other side of the world.

We have heard so much about the dark side of the internet that to see technology being used for good and to bring blessings is once again a testimony to the grace of God who does, is, and will work all things together for the good of those who love him (Romans 8:28) And may it be so, that around the world many many more men, women, boy,s and girls will come to know and love The Lord. Putting their trust in Him, in these deeply challenging days.

There is power in the Name of Jesus. Salvation and forgiveness awaits for all who seek him just as it has always been. Christ is the same yesterday today and forever. Yes, even in the midst of this pandemic. He is sovereign over all, no less so than in this corner of His vineyard.

Paul shared the gospel and rejoiced in the Lord in prison and in chains. Despite our lives being curtailed, we have a liberty and a freedom “in Christ”, that goes beyond any restrictions!

Perhaps this is the greatest opportunity of our Christian lives to really focus on God’s Greatest Commandment; To love him with all our heart soul mind and strength and to love our neighbours as ourselves! And in doing that we are sharing the very best thing we can share, Jesus our Saviour, our Master and our friend who gave His life for us and desires that many would seek him and receive forgiveness of sin and the hope and the promise we share in as Christians whatever our circumstances.

Have recent events challenged you in ways that have surprised you?

Are you already considering the changes you are going to make in you life since COVID-19?

Do you feel more or less secure in your faith at this time?

Please feel free to ‘leave a reply’ following your reflections on this post to encourage or challenge each of us.

May The Lord bless and keep you and yours safe in these days.

Trish Rigby

4 thoughts on “Our Ultimate Hiding Place: The Cross of Christ

  1. Thank you Trish for such an encouraging and challenging message. For the first time in my life, I have a sustained period of time not working. Unless you count my three maternity leaves, and I am not sure that counts as “not working” !

    I have spent most of my working life looking to develop my skills professionally and initially I had plans to do an online course. Until God spoke to me through one of Kenny’s teaching videos . I was sure he had a hidden camera in my house somewhere as he said that we don’t need courses but should use this time to get closer t God (or words similar to that). That was what I needed to hear.

    Time to focus not on myself, not on my career, not even on my family, but on God. God first, family second and everything else behind that. How that looks like in my life, I’m not entirely sure as yet. I have started by going back to my Sunday School days and memorising scripture. That’s more of a challenge for me than when I was 10!! I’m looking at God’s promises in Psalm 91 at the moment, “He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge”.

    Someone said at the beginning of the lockdown “it is like being sent to our rooms to think about what we have done”. Yes, I have felt like that over the past few weeks. For someone who loves people and likes to talk (a lot!!), these weeks are a challenge but we have a wonderful Saviour who wants us to talk to Him. God has shown me that he has given me time that I never thought I would get until retirement, God willing. The gift of time is a very precious gift.

    For those still working whether you are working at home, or are key workers, I feel privileged to be able to uphold you in prayers, particularly those of you who are working in the frontline. One of the surprises to me is that, despite social distancing, my neighbourhood has become more friendly and that is down mainly to Clap for Carers on a Thursday evening. I pray that you and your families will be kept safe and you will find opportunities to serve Him where you are.

    My children tell me I talk too much, they are probably right, so I will sign off now.

    Wishing you all God’s richest blessing,

    Elma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gillian Ferguson April 18, 2020 — 12:26 pm

      Thanks for this Trish. That’s so great to hear how you and others have been able to pray with people recently. I’ve been seeing what others have been able to do and falling back on my typical ‘what can I do?’ reasoning – problematic for two reasons, it’s all about doing and it’s all about me!! Elma, your comment and Trish’s has reminded me that God reminded me last year that I am first and foremost His child, and then a mother and wife. Those are two pretty important callings in and of themselves. That coupled with the reminder that He cares more about who I am than what I do (I know He does still care about what I do!) has encouraged me that loving well as a wife and mum, and prioritising time with Him are the most important things I can do at the moment. Thanks!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Trish as always an encouragement!
    Blessings chris Kelsey

    Like

    1. Thanks Trish for your thoughts.

      Paul Clayton

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started